Champagne is renowned the world over as the natural partner for any event where celebration, luxury and romance are the themes. It is a sparkling wine made only in the Champagne region of northeastern part of France from 3 classic grapes, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier, and this is what makes it different from all other sparkling wines in addition to getting it’s bubbles by undergoing the fermentation process twice, in the barrels and again in the bottles, unlike sparkling wines, which create their bubbles by adding carbonation.

Champagne is known for its toasty, yeasty flavours, achieved because of its unique terroir and law of spending at least 15 months in the bottle before release, of which 12 months maturation on lees is required for non-vintage cuvees. The minimum for vintage cuvees is three years. In practice, most Champagne wines are cellared for much longer: 2-3 years for non-vintage wines and 4-10 years for vintage Champagne. The minimum aging periods required by law for Champagne wines are much longer than for any other sparkling wines.

Winery Description Vintage Format Bot. Price by Case Rating
Dom Perignon Luminous, 3x75cl 2009 3X75CL 1620
Jacques Selosse Caisse Lieux Dits 6x75cl NV 6X75CL 3500
JL Vergnon Confidence Brut Nature Grand Cru 2010 75CL 650 BH 93
JL Vergnon Conversation Brut Grand Cru NV 75CL 450 BH 93
JL Vergnon Conversation Brut Grand Cru, 150cl NV 150CL 900 BH 93
JL Vergnon Conversation Brut Grand Cru, 37.5cl NV 37.5CL 225 BH 93
JL Vergnon Expression Extra Brut Grand Cru 2010 75CL 550
JL Vergnon Expression Extra Brut Grand Cru, 300cl 2010 300CL 2400
Ruinart Blanc de Blancs, Gift Box & 2 Champagne Flutes NV 2x75cl 1180 RP 90

Madison Wine © 2017. All rights reserved.